Welcome, visitor! [ Register | Loginrss

We think we have white mold in our basement rafters and want to remove it ourselves. Any tips or suggestions?

| Basement Mold Cleaning | September 5, 2010

We don’t have a lot of money and can’t afford to hire someone to come and clean it up. Our basement is wet in the summer and this is the second year we’ve had mold. Last year wasn’t so bad though. We want to clean up the basement rafters before it gets much worse. This appears to be white mold, which I understand to be less harmful then the ‘black’ mold I’ve heard so much about. Any advice or suggetions would be great. I just want to protect my family.

Such a good person, just clean it the same way you did before ( bleach) only this time put a dehumidifier in the basment. This will prevent mold and mildew from growing, will get them musty smell out of the basement, and will get the wetness out. On average they cost around $200 but will be worth wile to get the mold out in the future. Good Luck

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

No Tags

  

Sponsored Links

4 Responses to “We think we have white mold in our basement rafters and want to remove it ourselves. Any tips or suggestions?”

  1. put a heater down there
    References :

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  2. Such a good person, just clean it the same way you did before ( bleach) only this time put a dehumidifier in the basment. This will prevent mold and mildew from growing, will get them musty smell out of the basement, and will get the wetness out. On average they cost around $200 but will be worth wile to get the mold out in the future. Good Luck
    References :

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. I have had good luck treating mold with Clorox Clean-up.
    References :

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  4. The supports – they’re called floor joists. Soapy water or bleach water will remove the mold. A dehumidifier is the best answer for removing moisture. A portable fan or two is the next best thing. Make sure you don’t have a plumbing leak on the first floor or that rainwater is finding its way into the basement.
    References :
    Years in construction/ building codes.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply


two + = 7

From the Blog